Fearing God in a Hebel World: Dr. Bob McCabe


Dr. Bob McCabe is a scholar who teaches Old Testament at Detroit Baptist Theological Seminary, which is, from all I’ve seen, the finest self-identified fundamentalist seminary out there. Dr. McCabe staunchly supports (and rightly, I believe) a literal interpretation of the days of Genesis 1 as normal 24-hour days, and believes in a young earth (again, rightly, I believe). His excellent blog, Fearing God in a Hebel World, has some very helpful posts and links to more in-depth writings. I particularly commend the following two which have caught my eye recently:

“Critique of the Framework Interpretation”

“Evidence Incompatible with an Old Earth”

See also his journal articles critiquing the framework hypothesis here, and check out “Defending the Foundation of the Gospel: Literal Days in the Creation Week”

2 thoughts on “Fearing God in a Hebel World: Dr. Bob McCabe

  1. Allen R. Mickle, Jr. December 7, 2007 / 11:27 am

    Dr. McCabe is an OT scholar par excellance! I would heartily recommend any of his writings and if you ever got a chance, to take any of his classes. I never knew the OT could be so much fun and I never knew Hebrew could be so painful! 🙂 I’ll never forget Hebrew Exegesis of Amos with the good Dr.!Allen Mickle

  2. Glorygazer December 7, 2007 / 7:06 pm

    Allen, In addition to your suggestions, Dr. McCabe’s audio from the < HREF="http://www.dbts.edu/1-4/1-41.asp" REL="nofollow">Mid-America Conference on Preaching<> has been helpful to me. I’ve ordered the .mp3 CDs of the conferences from 2004-2006, and particularly enjoyed the messages on preaching from Job and the Psalms. Good stuff!

Leave a Reply

