10 Questions to Consider for Accountability Groups, Accountability Partners, and Self-Examination

Exhort one another daily, while it is called “Today,” lest any of you be hardened through the deceitfulness of sin. – Hebrews 3:13 NKJV

Many Christians have benefited greatly from accountability partnerships. These partnerships often involve asking pointed, specific questions to one another about areas of sin that are common and serious pitfalls.  However, if we are not careful, we can become deceived by our sin to such a degree that we may unconsciously begin thinking of sin in terms of those pointed, specific questions.  It’s the checklist mentality, and we must avoid it!

While we should certainly zero in on problem areas, we should be sure our strategy doesn’t allow “respectable sins” to loiter without notice.  To help us get at the root of sin in our lives, sometimes we need to dig a little deeper. Here are ten questions to help us do just that. As we ask these questions, let us remember that God calls to confess sin, forsake sin, and embrace and enjoy the forgiveness of sin offered to us in the gospel by our crucified and risen Lord Jesus Christ.

1. Have I been seeking to live for God’s glory or my own?

2. How does my life (thoughts, desires, and outward actions) measure up to the 10 Commandments and the 2 Great Commands to love God with all my being and my neighbor as myself?

3. What have I set my affections on, worshiping in the place of God?

4. What sin has been crouching at my door — a sin that I think I can tame?

5. Have I harbored bitterness and unforgiveness in my heart?

6. Have I been living my life in a manner worthy of the gospel?

7. Have I allowed myself to become complacent and careless in my relationship with the Lord and in seeking to please Him?

8. Have I sought to live independently of God in some way, failing to properly fear and acknowledge Him?

9. How have I sinned this day/week, both in commission and omission?

10. Have I consciously sought to rejoice in the Lord or has my attitude been colored by sinful desires and circumstances?

These questions are not mutually exclusive, as some certainly overlap.  Certainly, others could be formulated as well.  Nonetheless, I hope they are helpful to spur us on to forsake sin and pursue our joy in Christ and live worthy of His good news, as we find our joy in Him.

Leave a Reply

